Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should buy things made in their own country, even if they are more expensive than things made in other countries.

Purchasing is one of the most challenging issue in such modern era. In fact, there are various products with different qualities and cost which make purchasing difficult. On the one hand, people usually prefer to purchase products which are cheaper when the quality is the same no matter they have produced by their own country or other country, on the other hand, there are people who believe purchasing their own products will help industrial to be active whereby unemployment will decrease and indirectly effect their own life. As far as I am concerned, the later cases further weight on the account of following primary reasons.

Active industrial is the most important part of every modern country. Such active industrial comes from supporting the products which have been produced inside the country. In fact, if people purchase their own products, the rate of production will continue steadily and big companies will employ more employee in order to produce further products to satisfy more demand. Therefore, unemployment will decrease gradually. I remember the rate of unemployment was 20% in my country but when the government injected the idea of purchasing the products which have been made in our country between Iranian people, the rate of unemployment decrease to 8% after 10 years. Furthermore, 1000 big companies have been started to work in the last decade.

Competence will decrease the price and improve the quality. If people decide to purchase their own products rather than imported products, a competence will be created between internal companies in order to produce more whereby not only the price of products will decrease but also improve the quality. Therefore, people may purchase products with the same quality more expensive at first but in future they will buy high-quality products cheaper. For instance, there were few automobile company in Iran 20 years ago which produced automobile with same quality but more expensive than imported one and people didn’t like to purchase such automobile, therefore, Iran were full of imported automobile. One days, the government impose a strong law on importing automobile whereby the price of automobile increases drastically. Therefore, people induced to purchase Iranian automobiles. Such increasing demand encourage automobile companies to produce automobile even with more quality and cheaper than the past.

From economical point of view, such active industrial accompany with competence between companies will results in producing products which not only satisfy the internal demand but also they may be imported to foreign country. In fact, the quality and the price of products will improve as much as they may even compete with the same external products where by the rate of export will increase, the demand will increase, the unemployment will decrease and the welfare will improve. I remember 20 years ago Iranian people preferred to buy imported electronic devices but after 20 years Iranian companies are producing electronic devices which has less price and high-quality able to compete with the same external devices and this happen just because Iran government didn’t allow trader import electronic device.

All in all, as we mentioned above purchasing products which have been made inside the country makes an industrial active, decreases the rate of unemployment, creates competence between companies and all these factors brings about more powerful country which may be able to compete even with foreign countries. Although, as everyone knows, every coin has two side and one should contemplate the advantages and disadvantages of purchasing products which have been made in foreign countries.