Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Seeing the current senerio; increasing number of cars every year, it is hard to believe that after 20 years we'll not have cars in use as much as these are in present time. However, increasing pollution, increasing fuel prices, rapid extortion of natural resources cast doubt on the future of cars. In my opinion there will not be so much impact on the cars usage in upcoming years, as scientists are really involved in inventing new technologies which can replace non-renewable fuels to a renewable one, such as solar power, wind power, and other form of sustainable energy. That is why, I think, application of cars in the future will not be inhibited.

Firstly, innovation is an everlasting process and it will give us some alternatives of petrol, deisel and gases. In future I think, science will we able to generate enough enery from renewable resources such as from water, from sun, or even from wind. So I think the biggest danger- fuel problem- on the fate of cars can be hindered by such advancements. For example, at present the scarcity of petrolium and bans on the middle east countries have given the opportunity to the innovators to find alternates like converting water into fuel by seperating hydrogen and oxygen from the water and then use it for cumbutsion. Recent prototypes have been launched and demonstrated such engines which could run on water. However, due to huge cost and less efficiency has thwarted the process but as much as research and developement will be done, thos technology can proved to be a realistic solution to the problem of energy. That is why I think fuel problems for the cars can be resolved.

Secondly, car is the most covenient way travel for a short or medium distance. There are many other transport option available such as motorbike, bycycles, buses, and trains, but all these transport options are not as much as feasible the cars are. For instance, If one wants to go to work car provides best option as it'll have better protection from accident, dust and pollution than a bike and the car is more reliable than big vehicles like buses and trains, as we can take the car even in small street where large vehicle can't go. There are chances that shape, design and size of cars might change after 20 years but it'll still be as popular as it is now or even more popular. That is why I think cars can't be replaced and will not be less numbered in future.

With above reasoning and citation as invention in alternate fuel and humans' continued neccessity for cars. I aver that cars in the futures will not be limited to a small amount.