Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there would be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Cars are vehicles meant for human transportation on roads. Some would argue that in twenty years there will be more cars than there is today. But some others would state that the numbers of cars would experience a decline. After weighing all the evidences, it is clear that the numbers of cars in use would be reduced come twenty years. Technological, Economical and environmental factors would necessitate and cause this reduction in cars usage.

One of the major issues in the world right now is environmental degradation. Various human rights agencies have been fighting for this cause and enligtening the populace on the degradation of the environment by human actions. Cars are one of the ways through which human causes environmental pollution. One of the solution proffered by these group is the abandonment of cars for bigger buses and the establishment of mass transit. Developing countries like Nigeria would put these changes into law and it's just a matter of yesrs before these greatly affects the populations of cars in usage.

Secondly, with the rate of technological advancement, there would be a shift from road transportation to other forms of transportation. Technological advancement would cause the proliferation of high speed and convenient railways that cost less for travelling long distances like we have in China and Singapore. People would prefer to board a train by which they have time to perform other activities such as reading and they can as well sleep during their journey, rather than the stress of driving hundreds of mile to work. Technology would also engender the construction of more airports, which provides the fastest means of transportation. The presence of various airports even within states would draw traffic from car usage to air transportation unlike today where you have feweer number of airports plying majorly inter state routes and not intra state.

Thirdly, as the years go by and inflation rise is accompanied with a reduced value for money. The purchase and maintenance of a car becomes quite high for people to bear. People would have to resort to alternative means of transportation such as waterways and rail. This would greatly reduce the purchase of cars as people have a more cost-effective means of getting to work, home or school. An average commuter would prefer using the rail system which would prevent him from the periodic purchase of gas, servicing of his cars, car insurance, parking ticket and other costs that are associated with the ownership of a car.

In conclusion, As explained by the effect of technology, environment and economy on the usage of car as a means of transport, it is clear that the number of cars in usage would reduce in twenty years time.