Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is flawed based on several reasons, primarily because it made the unwarranted assumption that the small possible death was caused by the innoculations and nothing else, which makes its conclusion, that routine administration of the inoculations against cowflu should be rejected, invalid.

The author made a vague statement with the term "small possibility". Small is a relative term as regards life that could be damning like 2 deaths in 200 or also trivial as 1 death in 1000000. The small possibility might even be based on some complex calculations based on several factors and chain of events that might eventually lead to an death. Factors that might not be practical. For one the small possibility of death might occur when an innoculated person eats 80% carbohudrate for 10 consecutive days without water, doesnt sleep in 4 days, and doesnt pass out waste in 3 days and even more rare scenarios. What are the odds that a particular person might actually d=undergo these actions consecutively?. In order for the argument to be evaluated the author need to explain the explicit causes of the small possible death.

Also, the author makes the assumptions that the small possibility of death was caused by the inoculations. The possibility of death might be caused by side effect of a simultaneous administration of the inoculations and some other factors such as the persons diet, or usage of another ddrug that might react with tghe inoculations. Had the author for example mentioned a particular ingredient that is in the inoculation and also intrinsic and inherent in it, the argument might be more valid.

Even if there is an actual ratio for the small possible deaths, and it was caused by some ingredient in the inoculations, the author neglects the facts that the inoculations has been proved to save many lives if administered. Administering a drugs that has a 99% efficacy rate would be much more preferred than its rejection and thereafter death of the victims. Had the author argued that the administration should be made by qualified doctors or physicians and patients should be made to undergo several tests to determine if they were eligible for the inoculations, the argument might be more valid.

Because the author failed to explain the vague term 'small possibility', failed to consider the efficacy of the innoculatiosn and made the unwarranted assumptions of directly linking the small possible death to the inoculations, he does not make enough case to argue that routine administration of the innoculations should not be permitted .