Do you aGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT?

Internet should be like other services such as roads and government should provide it to the public with no cost.

Nowadays, despite the many disparities people have in a wide array of areas so far as one's opinion goes, one point that almost everybody agrees upon is the importance of internet. This is owing to the fact that internet plays a pivotal role in relatively all aspects of our social and personal life. That being said, in this regard, different opinions might stir heated debates as to what role should a government play in providing internet. One particularly reoccurring idea brought up is that government should consider internet as a public issue and provide it for free. Many concur with this notion and I found my self as one of them. In what follows, the rationale for this thesis will be elaborated by focusing on 2 reasons.

First and foremost, having provided free internet, the government enhances the access to information for people. It worth to mention that access to information is one of the human rights that has been indicated in both Universal Declaration of Human Rights and Universal Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. Since abovementioned documents are ratified by United Nations General Assembly, they are binding and states are obliged to respect them and take all the required measures for implementing them. A subtle comparison between Armenia and Iran could aptly shed light on my argument. As far as we know, internet users in Armenia are not asked to pay for either registration, domain, or traffic since, by the recent changes in their code of Access to Information, the government is in charge of all the costs related to internet. As the Statistics revealed, since the enforcement of the modified code, the status of Armenia in terms of freedom of access to information enhanced by 12. On the other hand, there are private companies in Iran which are providing internet. The costs for using their services fluctuates rapidly and haphazardly. That is why many Iranian citizens are reluctant to use internet and as a matter of fact, Iran is one of the worth countries in respect of freedom of access to information.

The other equally important reason which deserves some words here is the fact that government is able to control the hazardous content of some websites. Unfortunately, dark web, a part of web which contains illegal and brutal content, is spreading these days. Rarely do private sectors are able to turn them down or warn them to stop their activities because their developers are skillful hackers who cannot be caught and traced easily. Had the governments provided free internet in all around the world, the proliferation of these kinds of websites would have been decreased. Almost all the countries are concerned with the crimes committed in or by means of internet e.g. child pornography, hate speech, human trafficking, etc.

In summary, based on the above arguments, it seems more judicious to say that government should be responsible for providing free internet because it both increases the access to information and prevents cyber crimes.