Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Facts are derived from ideas and concepts. I agree with the statement that students should learn ideas and concepts instead of learning only facts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, it will increase our depth of knowledge. Learning only facts we will be able to remember the fact but won't be able to learn about the facts like how it comes or what is the historical context of the fact. In contrast, if we learn the concept and thought behind it, we will be able to learn from its root and it will increase our both understanding and knowledge. From this knowledge, we will be able to derive the fact by ourselves. My own experience demonstrates the advantage of learning the concepts and facts. About ten years ago, when I was in class seven, one mathematics teacher taught me math. He always told me to learn how a formula comes from theory and discourage me to learn only the formula. But I was always curious about this and sometimes I feel like he is the worst teacher who keeps the pressure on me to learn the theory of formulas. But one day, during an examination, I was not able to remember one of the most important formula which was required to solve numerous problem. Then I recalled the theory of the formula and it enables me to derive the formula. Therefore, I was able to solve all the problems. This was not possible if I only learned the formula.

Second, it makes us more creative. Knowing different concept helps us gather the concept and invent something new. On the other hand, knowing facts not only decrease our capacity of learning but also inhibit our ability to think. For example, about five years ago, when I was at college, I had two friends: Farid and Jamal. Both are intelligent and always did better results. But there is a contrasting behavior of these two, Farid thought that remembering facts is enough for studying history, ideas and concepts are not necessary. But Jamal did think just opposite of this. He enthusiastically learns all the background and reasons behind a historical fact. This helped him to learn deeply about the facts. For this extensive knowledge, he became a great historian of that era and made some creative discoveries about ancient peoples. But, Farid was not able to do such great things.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that learning and understanding the ideas and concepts is more important than the facts. Because it increases our knowledge and make us creative.