Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that keeping the connection with the old friends is more importance than making new friends. The issue is a controversial one, but in my opinion, a closer examination reveals that it's more crucial to expand the network with new people for several reasons. In this essay, I will explain my position providing examples to support my claims.

First of all, the more people we know, the more benefits we get. Each individuals has various kinds of knowledge and resource. For example, the doctors know well in the hospitality, but may not expert in art. Normally, people cannot perfectly do anything well by themselves; people need helps from others. For instance, one of my friends, who is a dentist, need to get a patient for her examination case. She couldn't find the patient until the last week before the exam, so she walked into the engineering club, asking to join the volunteer program. After couple days in the engineering club, she gained many new friends and finally got the patient for her examination. Clearly, making new friends is beneficial.

Secondly, knowing new friends can help people learn new aspect in life. People cannot get any new perspective by spending time with the same old people or activities. In contrast, the more exposure to new societies or communities enhance the experience and, as a result, people grow. For example, my sister was very shy and didn't like to meet new people. She always has the problem dealing with people. However, after a trip of her internship aboard, she was force to know new people, such as her colleague and her boss. Now she became more confidence and more happy with life than ever before.

In summary, while there are arguments to be made for both sides, it is clear that there are greater advantages making new friends because of the above mentioned reasons. Certainly, expanding the network is more crucial than spending time to keep the old friends.