Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides, people must weigh pros and cons before jumping in conclusions. After all, each and every question or topic requires careful deliberation in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Some people believe that it is vital that students understand ideas and concepts rather for them to learn facts. In my humble opinion, if push comes to shove, learning composed of deep understanding of concepts and ideas for individuals to understand better the topic. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the majority of the individuals can see the whole picture if they can absorb it's basic foundation which are the concepts and ideas, without it people will have hard time grasping the subject matter. In addition to this, as a Nurse, we are given heaps of medical books to read and study in order to understand the basics of human life. In other words, first we must focus our mind and energy to the fundamentals of Nursing which is the backbone of it all. Hence, in order to get a feel beyond the science of nursing, one must deal with Anatomy and physiology and will get a sense of how your career will be in the future. If you don't really understand the basic concepts and ideas then you will become inefficient nurse in the future. Others say that in life there are no shortcut, you must go through it all. And I believe that in learning it is also applicable, there are no fast forward in gaining knowledge, there are no learning just the facts but you need to get to know the main source of knowledge beyond it.

On top of it, students tends just know the facts because for them it is much easier for them to learn. As a result, the their grades suffer due to they get low scores. In other words, they really don't understand the lesson because they just memorize based on facts. In addition to this, there are studies in University of the Philippines, majority of the subjects are students from elementary and high school. In this study they will gauge their understanding in given topics. 80% of the respondents did not answer well to questionnaire's or answer sheet because they don't have understood well the topics. Long story short, it's clear as day to me that people who learns facts without the understanding ideas and concepts have detrimental effects.

In summation, yes, it's virtually impossible to provide a complete satisfying answer to an open ended question. Although the jury may be out on this given essay topic, we can come to a mutual agreement that individuals understand better if they understand the concepts and ideas rather than just knowing simple facts due to the reasons and details mentioned above.