Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In modern society, people are surrounded by technology all the time. By watching the muti-functional electronic---television, they can attach to everyday events and absorb new knowledge instead of other methods. Regarding this point, some people hold the opinion that watching television and movies negatively affect young people’s behavior, while others take the idea that TV and movies can have positive influence on young people. Personally, I incline to the view that TV and movies have more negative effects on young men. I’ll give two reasons in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, there are a lot unregulated movies or TV shows that are not suitable for young people to watch such as some violent videos and even porn videos, which can really change one’s mind and physical behaviors. However, most of the young people don’t understand these things and they’ll appear to have more interests on them and keep searching for more information. In this way, they’ll have tendency towards brutal scenes in order to seek for stimulation, and they might do something that they saw and learned from the videos which can be really terrifying and have serious consequences.

Another reason for my opinion is that watching TV really waste young people’s time and money. Despite of the bad sources on TV and movies, there are some advertisement that are eye-catching and novel. For example, my cousin Jem likes eating snacks, he seems to be interested in new snacks that showed in commercials. And mostly he would either go to the official website or using shopping apps to buy those snacks. By eating so much snacks, he not only waste his money but also become less healthy. And there’s one more case. My younger sister she watches TV for a long time recently. This is because she found out that her favorite animation will play on TV everyday after school. It was hard for her to stop watching TV and she started to refuse doing her school works. She also got nearsightedness apart from the negative effects that I said before. Thanks to TVs, young people are badly affected in different ways.

Base on reasons and details that I gave above, I can conclude that watching television and movies might lead to unexpected consequences and negative effects on physical and mental health, and is also a waste of time and money. It is better for us to utilize the time on more beneficial and advantageous affairs such as reading books or do sports. Therefore, watching TV truly have more negative effects.