Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people believe that movies and television have a profound effect on human society. In my opinion, TV and movies do harm to young people because they are bad for kid's health and the violence in the TV may influence small children. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, TV and movies are bad for young people's health, espeacially the health of eyes. Children are easy to be addicted to TV and they could spend many hours on watching TV because the shows or videos on TV are pretty interesting. When young people are watching TV, they just stare on TV without moving their eyes. This could make eyes of young people extremely tired, and young people do not know to relax their eyes. At last, their eyes will suffer illnesses. For example, my litter cousin named Tom likes watching TV at the extreme. He could stay at home and watch TV for even ten hours one day. When he is eating, his eyes do not move from TV. Eventually, he feels his eyes uncomfortable and he is pretty afraid of light. He has to go to hosptial and has a treatment.

Secondly, the fact that the violent shows on TV could have a negative impact on young children indicates TV does harm to young people. Young people have no ability to check what is right and what is wrong and it's easy for young people to imitate what they see. Therefore, if kids see something violent on TV, they might imitate it and hurt their friends. The example of a piece of news demonstrates this notion. Several children love to watch a cartoon named Goat and Wolf. In the cartoon, the wolf usually boils the goat. Therefore, these children caught one friend named Mike and burned fires to boil water. They were going to boil Mike like the cartoon. It's lucky that their parents found it and stopped their dangerous behaviors or Mike might die due to the imitation of the cartoon. The example shows that TV could cause quite dangerous behaviors of children.

In conclusion, TV is bad for young people because it is harmful to the health of young people and the violent behaviors could have negative influence on kids.