Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that youth is one of the most important periods for all people throughout the world. In this sensitive period, teenagers should be well prepared for their future lives. While some people believe that parents should not let their teenagers have a part-time job, I hold the view that youth should be encouraged to work part-time. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, adolescents who work would increase their chances to attain success since they gain valuable experiences. They can learn a lot of skills from working with different people and in various places, so they would become well-rounded for their future careers. My personal experience is a compelling example of this notion. When I was eleven, during the summer, my father incited me to work part-time in a restaurant near our home. It was a big restaurant in our city, and a lot of people would buy their daily meals from there. At first, it was difficult for me to get accustomed to the atmosphere since it was my first experience. However, I gradually learned how to communicate politely with customers and how to be responsible in doing my duties. Actually, I liked that job and I decided to work there every year. Now, I am a coffee man and I am successful in my job because of those valuable experiences. If my parents had not encouraged me to work part-time in my adolescence, I would not be a prosperous coffee man.

Furthermore, teenagers can broaden their opportunities to get a good job since they can invest their money to learn new skills. Since adolescents are not expected to make money, they can save their income and spend it in many beneficial ways. There are a lot of useful classes that youth can enroll and learn different skills. For instance, considering the above-mentioned example of my experience as a teenager, I could save two hundred dollars per month when I would work in that restaurant. After three months of summer, I had six hundred dollars and I enrolled in a piano class as I had always been learning an instrument. I continued learning piano for seven years and now I can play the piano in the coffee shop. Actually, it was so easy for me to be hired as a coffee man since I was able to play one of the most difficult instruments. This example illustrates that how working as a teenager and investing money to learn useful skills can have a significant effect on one’s future job.

To sum up, considering all the above-mentioned points and reasons, one could conclude that it is better for teenagers to have a part-time job. This is because they can get useful experience, and because they can spend their income to learn new valuable skills.