Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:People often buy products not because they really need them, but because other people have them.

Life has changed over the past few decades and people have started to ask whether they buy products because they need them or because others have them. Personally, I think most people tend to buy products either because they are trendy or because a lot of people has the item. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

People want to feel that they are equal with others. If someone has a luxury item, others want to have the same. My experience is a good compelling example. When I was in college, my close friends had the most expensive phone which was iPhone 4. However, my phone was really old and I felt that I was imperfect. So, even though I did not have the money, I ask my father to buy for me a new phone similar to my friends. As you can see, I bought the phone not because I needed it, but because other people had it.

In addition, the companies start to update the products regularly and that attract people to buy more. Even though the changing is little, but the marketing tends to make it a lot. For instance, every year people wait for Apple conference in order to see the new iPhone. When you see the difference you between the versions, you see that the changing are in the quality of the camera, the appearance, and battery life. Unfortunately, because of the marketing, people buy the products, and communities start to do the same.

Frankly speaking, when people grow they realize that these companies manipulate them. So, you can see that a lot of elderly use the old versions. In last Christmas, I bought iPhone X for my father. He does not use yet. He told me that his phone is fine. I am sure that a lot of parents are the same.

All in all, I strongly believe that a lot of people buy products only because people have them. This is because that they want to be trendy as others and because the companies utilize this by updating their products annually.