Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students do not respect their teachers as much as they did in the past.

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus individuals are attaching more and more importance to the education industry. Some of them reckon that compared to the past, students do not respect their teachers as much as they did. While others rebut that students respect teachers more than ever before since they are easily well-educated with the abundant educational resources accumulated for thousands of years. Personally speaking, I concur with the first opinion for reasons as follows.

To start with, with the advancement of technology, teachers in schools are not the mere authority for students. To be more specific, nowadays, based on the elevation of living qualities and income, there is an increasing number of city dwellers equipping their children with diversified educational technology, such as cell phones or I pads with a bunch of educational applications, which renders those children with more approaches to more profound knowledge and teachers with varieties of pedagogical methods. By utilizing the newly-emerging technology, they no longer worship their teachers as much as they did since they recognize that what teachers impart to them is not profound and all of these pieces of knowledge can be attained from other sources. The research conducted to evaluate students’ attitude toward their equipment related with studies demonstrates that nearly all students are provided with advanced technology devices and 78% of them contend that the content of educational application is more appealing to them than what their teachers convey during the class, which makes them feel boring when listening to lectures given by their teachers and behave impolitely in class, for instance, chatting with classmates sitting around, falling asleep or playing cellphones to kill the tedious time. This research illuminates that it is the advancement in technology that gives rise to the diminished respect for teachers.

What’s more, the continuously changing awareness toward teachers also should be taken into consideration in this issue. For one thing, numerous students are educated to think critically so as to maximize their creativity and not regard what teachers teach them as the mere truth, however they are not reminded of the basic discipline of showing respect for teachers. Hence, more and more students, for the sake of forgetting fundamental respect for teachers, behave impolitely, which indeed annoys teachers. For another, some social media is continuously hyping some scandals intertwined with a small group of badly-behaved teachers, therefore some students are wholly convinced by these scandals tarnishing teachers’ reputation, which makes students harbor the idea that none of their teachers are role models for them, thus show less respect to their teachers. For instance, one of my classmates in high school emailed to our mathematical teachers. In this email, he contended that owing to the scandals emerging in another high school, he was concerned about the fairness of our contestant selection for a mathematical competition held by our teacher and insisted that our mathematical teacher was involved in this scandals without sufficient evidence. This example indicates that since students are not mature enough to tell right from wrong, the hyped scandals easily exert detrimental effects on their attitudes toward teachers, which makes they do not respect teacher as they did in the past.

Admittedly, some students still behave in a socially acceptable way to respect their teachers, nevertheless, it is self-evident that students living in modern society show less respect to their teachers.

In a nutshell, from what has been discussed above, I would like to reiterate my opinion that students no longer respect their teachers as they did in the past owing to the development of technology and the altered consciousness toward teachers.