Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I definitely believe the statement that teachers were indeed more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. There are at least three main changes in the society that are responsible for this shift of attitude; some of them are quite unfortunate, while others are rather invigorating.

One of the unfortunate causes is the teachers themselves, who are becoming less responsible and therefore less admired than before. Twenty years ago when I was little, teachers were considered as the authority, not just because of their knowledge, but also because of their virtue. Unfortunately, a great number of teachers today concentrate too much on money and other external matters. Let me take something happening around me as an example. I had been taught by many excellent teachers in middle school who were once very famous in my hometown. While several years later, I heard that they left the middle school and set private education centers. Only when you pay a lot of many can you receive good education, which led to unfairness of education.

Another discouraging factor comes from the students, who nowadays are spoiled too much to respect their teachers. Again when I was little, admonishing students when they err is expected of the teacher. Today, many students are regarded as the king or queen at home so that they cannot be upset by any unkindness. Once they are criticized by teachers, they will curse back and play trick on their teachers. As a result, chances are good that teachers dare not to point out student's flow any longer, not to mention the reputation of being a teacher.

Also, the role of teachers is challenged by the development of modern technology, and this is an invigorating change. With mobile phones and personal computers, they are capable of independent study. Visiting museums and traveling around the world, they get vivid knowledge of nature and human beings. More and more online platforms also provide students with top level courses, which make them, be well educated just at home. Owing to these mentioned above, the teachers’ knowledge appears partial and outdated. Rather than being the authority, teacher’s has become perhaps, at best, a convenient expert on campus. I welcome this change, because this diminishing authority is on the whole beneficial for promoting students’ critical thinking.

To sum up, teachers being less appreciated and valued by society is an undeniable change and the trend is only going to continue. However, I would not make a hasty judgement on whether the less appreciation receive is a passive or negative matter.