Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends play different roles in our lives. They have fun with us when we are happy. They give us a hand when we are in trouble. Sometimes they act as great tutors to instruct us how to become real men. And actually, I consider that developing both the ability to maintain friendship with few people over a long period and to make many new friends easily is significant for us.

Old friends are the ones who stand behind you and always support you to move forward, just like your relatives. It is quite an honor for me to have such kind of friends. And there is a story between me and my best friend. When I was in senior high school, I was a member in the dancing team. One day, the teacher taught us to perform a new dancing movement. Even if I tried several times, it's still too hard for me to finish it and almost everyone is laughing at me except my best friend. Instead, she just went to me and instruct me to do it without any impatience. Several years later, she is still my best friend who I trust in most, because I know that she will never left me behind. Maintaining friendship with such an old friend over several years indeed brings me a sense of happiness and security.

Still, making new friends is also an indispensable part of my life, which renders my life increasingly fantastic. Also, take my story as an example. I am a graduate student major in biology, while I prefer attending different kinds of activities to just doing experiment alone in labs. When I found someone who share the same thought or have similar interest with me, I am willing to give my face book account to them and keep in touch with them, which make my life more interesting than before. I am also doing many researches combining different majors together with the help of my friends from a variety of fields. And all these experiences bring me an other kind of happiness.

In summary, just as I mentioned in the first paragraph, different sorts of friends functions differently. Old friends and new friends are both indispensable parts of our lives. Therefore, both the ability to maintain friendship with a few people over a long period and to make many new friends easily is significant for us.