Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The statement is making us to choose between the ability to maintain long-term friends and the ability to make new friends. I guess this dichotomy does exist in our life, since we have limited time and energy, we indeed cannot give equal and sufficient attention to everybody around us. But I don’t think everyone has to share the same idea with regard to this choice, because we all have different personalities and experience. On the one hand, I am a fan of long-lasting relationships, but I also respect those who can make friends easily. This apparent difference really comes from our different needs.

For starters, I enjoy long-term friendships in that old friends are the ones who stand behind you and always support you to move forward, just like your relatives who bond with you. It is quite an honor for me to have such kind of friends. And it can be proved by a story between me and my best friend. When I was in senior high school, I was a member in the dancing club. One day, the teacher taught us to perform a new dancing move. Even if I tried several times, it was still too hard for me to complete it and I felt too nervous, so that at that time almost everyone was laughing at me except my best friend. Instead, she just went over to me and gave me a remedy on how to do it unhesitately. Even after so many years, she is still my best friend whom I trust most; because I am clearly conscious of that she will never leave me behind. Keeping friendship with such an old friend over several years indeed brings me a sense of happiness and provides us with a safety net.

Still, making new friends is also an indispensable part of my life, which renders my life increasingly fantastic. Although I am a undergraduate student majoring in biology, I prefer taking part in different kinds of activities to just doing experiment alone in labs. When I find someone who share mutual thought or have similar interest with me, I am willing to get to know them and keep in touch with them, which enormously enrich my life. Doing research regarding the combination of different majors with biology is my favorite as well, and the capability to make new friends with people from a variety of fields ensures/guarantee better cooperation between us. Hence, making new friends brings me another kind of happiness.

Of course, I am capable of defending myself when some people point out that friendship which you establish with ease is vulnerable, because I think that whether friendship can last long depends on how well you maintain it, not the way by which you become friends. In some cases, long-lasting friends may begin with an occasional chance and you will find a mutual respect and trust when you get to know each other deeper.

Overall, old friends and new friends are both precious parts of our lives. From my perspective, both the skill to keep a few intimates and building new relationships occasionally is crucial for us.