Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Teachers play a very important role on everyone's life, because a considerable part of their personality is shaped by teachers. From a long time ago teachers were always among the most respected people in society, however these days value of teachers is less prominent than previous. This reduced appreciation is the results of several factors which are discussed below.

Firstly, in old days teachers were among the few educated people in society, and because of their knowledge they very valued greatly. My grandfather once told me that when he was a child the only people which could have read in their city were their teacher and the governor. Considering they were the only people able to read, there was a huge gap between their knowledge level and other citizens, and this made all people to be awed by their knowledge and hence specially value them.

Secondly, likewise, finding a teacher to get education from was very difficult in past. Since very few people had education, and most of the educated people were in governmental jobs and did not put their time for teaching others, the people who sacrificed their time to teach the others were truly valued. To illustrate this point, it is better to have a view on the number of people in comparison to the number of teachers available in past. I read in an article in Keihan newspaper that in 1976, there was 124 teachers for the 4 million population of the country, and even this number were just available in larger cities. For this reason, teachers were among the mostly valued individuals.

On the other hand, these days most of the people are educated and able to teach the others. Although still teachers undoubtly impact their student's life and personality and are respected in society, but they are far from the extraordinary and rare teachers in past times.

Overall, teachers were appreciated more in the past because there was very few number of educated people around in those times and also teaching was considered some kind of sacrify in past. However today lots of teachers are available and their have become part of the ordinary society.