Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides, people must weight pros and cons before jumping to conclusions. After all, each and every question or topic requires careful deliberation in that they are always in multiple variables to a truth. Some individuals believe that infomercials being shown to public aged two to five should not be broadcast. In my humble opinion, I agree that toddlers shown not be allowed for commercials at an early age because they are on their critical age and can quickly adapt to their environment. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the majority of individuals would agree to the notion that kids easily absorb everything in their surrounding. Moreover, all in their field of spectrum they feel and think that what is shown to them is actually true. In other words, when they see adverts in their TV program they feel the need to acquire food items or toys in the commercial. In fact, they are not in the right mind to decide for themselves if these products will be beneficial for them or not. A great example of this is my Niece Sam, when he see adverts in the screen he immediately has this impulse to ask his parents for the toys. Sam says that he wanted it because his favorite cartoon character uses such toys and he must have it what ever it may takes. He would cry or shout if his parents will not grant his wishes to have the toy. I believe that, advertising tends to manipulate their young minds so that they can earn a profit.

Secondly, infomercials has a negative effects on our kids because they are not equipped to see whether products or items being advertised are being truthful to their ads. For instance, commercial target young children such branding their product like cereal with fortified with iron, vitamins and minerals. But the truth is, it is loaded with many calories and high content of sugar and fat which is unhealthy for them. To illustrate more thoroughly, here in the Philippines there is a ad which is banned to be shown in the public due to they have unfavorable impact to consumers. This commercial which is a food item, it tackle when you eaten this product then your bones will be strong and you will be healthy. But the food label on the back only states no health benefits on children and studies show that it exceed the needed calcium of ages 2-5 years old and it is actually bad for kids due to it can lead to bone thinning. Long story short, it's clear as day to me that negative effect of advertising can be detrimental to young children.

To summarize this, young children should be carefully watched for commercial in the television. This is because advertisers usually misleads their mind for unnecessary purchases which only would benefit the company and kids will only because some products have harmful effect on their growth and development.