Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television marketing is becoming more and more irrelevant with their content now-a-days. They are just showing what would attract the viewers rather that than justifying how their product is useful for the viewers. The prompt claims that television advertising directed towards young children should not be allowed. I agree with this statement for two reasons.

First, most of the television advertisements targeting young audience explicitly have content which attracts them irrespective of their demerits. For instance, many of the advertisements of processed foods have mascots of any currently popular characters among the children. And sometimes they even sell some free items related to the mascot to influence the children to buy them. This kind of influence will make the child to buy it without considering if item has any actual worth to it. In most cases, even parents would let them from buy it, knowing it is unnecessary, as they wouldn't want their child to feel sad for it. The above example shows how television advertisements affect the children. During this tender age, the children will easily get swayed by colorful images and songs shown by the advertisements to misguide them.

No child below age five would have the mental capability to decide for themselves but can be major cause for most of items bought by their parents. The television advertisements generally tend to make use of this, to make the children put pressure on the parents to yield and increase their sales. For instance, most of the household equipment have television advertisements which would talks about their features. But few have paintings or drawings of some cartoon characters which will attract the children, thereby being a deciding factor for buying it.

So, I think that television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.