Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

There is a widespread controversy that which of the following ability is more important for happiness. The first one is the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time, and the other is the ability to make many new friends easily. From my perspective, both of them are important for both of them have valuable advantage.

To begin with, the ability to maintain friendship helps people to have old friend. Old friends can provide more effective assistance. People have more common experience with their old friends, which means old friends are more familiar with our evolution in thought. When we stick in trouble, old friend would be the one, who can find out why is this problem happened and bring us an appropriate solution. For example, I'm used to share programing experience with one of my college roommates. If there were any coding problem, we always solved it together and improve together. Later then, I meet a program problem on my intern work which could took me several hours to figure it out and debug nothing. When I call this friend to discuss this problem, he directly point out it is might caused by stack overflow, which I usually ignore when I coded for my homework. Then I checked the stack status right away and easily solved the problem.

We also need to cultivate the ability to easily make new friend, because it can help us to blend with in the new environment more quickly. In the modern society, every one is competing to gain more opportunities. To get ourselves quickly used to the new environment enables us to be more likely to get the resources from the new environment. The best way to blend with in an environment is to make friend. For example, a new internship employee of a big company would face this situation. In a big company, there are always many internship employees recruited in at the same time. What determines who can finally leave is for most part how many and how well works each of these employee done during the intern. People who can quickly make friend with those old employees will get more chance to show off their skills. In another perspective, old employees would be more likely to help those fresh man they are familiar with. In this case, I believe the ability to easily make new friends rise the probability of a new employee being accepted.

In conclusion, both of the ability are important because the former can provide with more effective assistance, and the later can help people blend with in the new environment more quickly.