Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

There is a widespread controversy over two abilities. The first one is the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time, and the other is the ability to make many new friends easily. From my perspective, both of them are important to gain happiness, as both of them have a valuable advantage.

In the first place, the ability to maintain friendship helps people to have old friends, who can provide us with more effective assistance. People have more common experience with their old friends. As a result old friends are more familiar with our evolution in thought. If we are stuck in trouble, old friend would be the one, who can find out the cause of the problem and help us with an appropriate solution. For example, my brother, Elon, always benefits from a friend,Erin, with whom he has kept in touch for several years. Elon is a computer engineer working in a big company and he always faces many coding problems. Once a tough computer glitch bothered Elon for a long time, and Erin shoot that trouble on the phone, even without seeing the codes, while all his co-worker couldn't figure out what lead to that bug. That is because Erin is familiar with Elon's coding style in which Elon always put the pointer into the function without deleting, and this style, in some situations, will cause the stack overflow problems. Thanks to this old friend, Elon got the opportunity to be promoted on that weekend and they ate dinner together for celebration.

We also need to cultivate the ability to easily make new friends, because it can help us to blend with in the new environment more quickly. In the modern society, every one is competing to gain more opportunities. To integrate in the new environment quickly enables us to be more likely to get the resources from the new environment. Especially a new intern in a big company, in which there are competition on different levels, would benefit from this ability for sure. For example, My cousin, Billie, have taken a job in a big technology company in Silicon Valley, since he is really good at making new friends. Approximately six months ago, Billie got an intern chance in that company together with other nineteen outstanding interns. By quickly making friends with some old engineer in the company he soon showed his accomplished coding skills; thus he get a chance to solve an important problem independently. When solving that tough problem, an old engineer helped him with some computing resources which helped him finish that job easier and as a result he got the offer due to the contribution. It is evident that the ability of making friends easily helped Billie to get advantages to compete with others and finally succeed.

In conclusion, both of the abilities are important because the former can provide more effective assistance, and the latter helps people blend with in the new environment more quickly.