Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

there is no doubt that nowadays the ability to have communication plays a pivotal role in developing one's characteristic and no one could deny this fact. A vast majority of people are of the opinion that making new friends is a crucial ability because you may travel to another country, as a result, you could not be in touch with your friends in close. I, contrary to popular belief, prefer to make my friendships long-lasting in order to remain delighted over to renew my friends. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous reasons and examples to explicate my vantage point.

One of the reasons comes to my mind at first is that people have more memories with their old friends. When you have a friend from your school, indeed, you have been growing with each other, you have the same memories, you can laugh at the mutual things, you have more fun with each other because, in essence, you are siblings. A study was conducted by a group of psychology researchers at Oxford University on the source of recent innovations. Its result shows that 80 percent of those people who are traveled to a new country for further their studies and are away from their relationships are exposed to depression and suicide.

Another equally noteworthy reason that corroborating my stance on this issue is that people could get along with their old friends easily. To shed light on this issue, take me as an example. Last year, when I was in the last week of the semester, during the university exams, I have to break up with my boyfriend. My high school friend, Sara, devote an enormous amount of his time to talk with me in order to calm me down. On the other hand, Mari with who I spend out my leisure time in university, do not care about my feelings in those days. This experience taught me that in any aspect, leaning on old friendships are of more benefit than new ones.

to wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that based on Maslow's hierarchy of needs, people must have a relationship, no matter they are new or old. However, that was a story in nutshell. Actually, there are other reasons and samples elaborating on this idea which are not mentioned due to the shortage of time. Finally, it is suggested that people could try to keep their old friend bonds in order to have a joyful life.