Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Since the beginning of this century, in all distinctive civilized societies, it has been a controversial argument among individuals, through which numerous conflicts have been engendered. Some people are inclined toward the viewpoint that relatives were more important to people than they are today, while others consider this issue in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all the opposite attitudes I fundamentally concur with the statement that the extended relatives became less important today. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored as follows.

First and foremost, nowadays, people are busier than they were in the past; therefore, they will not be able to spend much time with their remote relatives. As a matter of fact, nowadays, people have to work harder because of the inflation and higher prices. being preoccupied with both work and close family issues, individuals are less enthusiastic about attending family events.

In addition to lacking time, individuals are tended to live separately. In fact, they prefer to spend their time with their friends rather than their family. Due to the fact, that most of the family members cannot get along, even siblings have such an issue, individuals do not enjoy accompanying their family members. Although, having fun with extended family would be a pleasure for people, it also, can cause much more difficulties for people. For the sake of clarity, I would like to provide an example of my brother who works two shifts at a restaurant. Although he did not have time for our cousin's birthday party, he attended with her wife and children. Since our cousin, called Sam, always hated my brother, Sam ruined the day for my brother with mocking him and making fun of him in front of people. Ever since that event, my brother dos not attend any of our family events.

Apart from the points made above there is also another reason that I would like to discuss about. Nowadays, because of the advancements in technology, there are lots of alternative options instead of meeting your extended family. Indeed, if you are bored you can watch TV, surf the net, or travel. Thanks to the progression in technology, everything is getting much easier than it was in the past. with this great spectrum of choices, this is predictable that people would rather other activities than spending time with their family, especially extended family.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments, which have been explored above I strongly agree with the statement that the significance of extended family has been opaque due to the fact that people would rather to spend their time in other ways.