Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) shouldn’t be allowed.

Since the beginning of this century, in all distinctive civilized societies, it has been a very controversial argument among individuals or even intellectuals, through which numerous conflicts has engendered. Some people are Inclined toward the opinion that TV advertising targeting toddlers should not be allowed, while others consider this issue in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all opposite attitudes, I strongly concur with the idea that the TV advertising for young children shouldn't be permitted. The outstanding of my reasons would be explored below.

To begin with, certainly, the personality of the young children would not have been constructed completely, and the age up to five is a very important age for the personality construction. I believe I read this fact in a psychology magazine that it is believed that most of our personality begins to create by the age of five, so parents should be careful on that time. Most of them not only always watch their language in front of their babies but also don't turn on the TV whenever their children are around. I remember my mother never let me watch TV until I was eight.

In addition to the alternation in the personality, these advertisements might be inappropriate for children. It is obvious that TV provides a lot of useful programs such as documentaries; however, there are always some shows that are inappropriate. The advertisements are no exception. Some of them may be inappropriate either sexually or psychologically. This is a fact that children don't comprehend all the things they see, so may be these advertisements not only affect them in a wrong way but also hurt them. For example, there is an advertisement about a dollhouse, which in a man was creating the dollhouse by hammering some nails. As a matter of fact, my niece had been watching that advertisement, and she had been wanted to try it on her own. She ended up hurting her fingers so bad.

Apart from the points I made above there is also another reason that I would like to discuss about and it's that these advertisements could cause conflicts between parents and their children. For example, a TV advertisement is about a toy that some parents cannot afford to buy it such as a tiny car; however, a child can't understand the financial situation of his or her parents, so he or she may persist in buying the car. If the parents didn't buy it this kid probably would never forget it, consequently, it would affect his or her relationship with his or her parents in the future.

By way of conclusion, based on the argument explored above I fundamentally agree with the statement that TV advertisements shouldn't target the infants and toddlers, and it has to be prevented. Although they may have some benefits for adults but definitely they aren’t beneficial for the children.