Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

The 20th and 21st centuries are characterized by all the momentous changes they made in human's life. In the distinctive civilized societies, one of the most perplexing questions among individuals is whether most of the commercial programs tend to display their products better than they really are or not. A plethora of people is in the conviction that companies are so generous about their products and try to present a better image of them, while others take a radically diverse viewpoint. Although both attitudes have their own merits and drawbacks, I postulate that latter attitude is in general more convincing. The ensuing paragraphs will shed light on my perspective.

First and foremost, if the companies did not bluff about their products, some people would not even take a look at them. As a matter of fact, in this crazy world, companies have to find their position in the market in order to make a profit, and how can they make a profit, if the costumers do not even notice their product? Therefore, they have to use what is called "white lie" to make their product or service appears different from other products. As a case in point, since people cannot distinguish between different products at first glance, if a company that produces ice cream would not utilize some strategies of modern marketing and advertising, it will not be able to sell its product even though it is a good product.

In addition, I postulate that despite the companies brag about their products in the advertisements, they tell the truth about the general features of the product. As an illustration, if an advertisement is about a type of bread, it cannot display something about its features that is not true; otherwise, the costumers can even sue them. However, they may be lying about something that does not matter, such as a famous celebrity always uses that type of bread.

Apart from the points that I have made above there is also another reason that deserves some points here. I believe that most of the people are pessimistic about all the advertisements, so they unconsciously do not trust all the things that have been said in a commercial; therefore, companies have to be creative in their advertisements.

By way of conclusion, on the grounds of the aforementioned arguments, I am of the opinion that more often than not, companies are inclined to bluff about their product in their advertisements. However, sometimes it is needed otherwise people would not pay attention to their products at all.