Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that the extended family is of the same importance as the close family has. However, there are those who belief that the close family has the great importance at the moment. I, to a great extent, agree with the idea that with the passage of the time the significant of the extended family is decreased day by day. In my opinion, three of the main reasons of this even are being less of communication with the number of extended family, being complex of the style life of people and being replaced of communication with extended family with other thing such as other entertainments and hobbies.

The first and foremost reason that we must pay attention is that with the passage of time thanks to the improvement in technology and some other reasons the number of meeting the extended family has been decreased. therefore, with the decline in meeting each other the importance of extended family has been declined. take me, as an example, when I was a child we, I mean me and my close family, was living in near of my grandfather house. At that time we had several meeting during a month. when we were planning to move out to the other city, this connection became less and less so that I spoke with my grandfather once a year by phone.

The second item which should be took into consideration is that the style and method of human life have changed gradually. To illustrate this phenomenon, I must bring a perfect example to compare the style of the life in the past with in the present. In the pact. most of the people worked as a farmer and as an agriculture and all of them (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) were living in the same place. What is more, the method of life style was similar to each other. while at the being of time, every family has a different job, and they are living in the different place. therefore, it is obvious that these families have different culture and taste. Hence, the importance of other families for each other is decreased.

Finally, the third reason is that people replace some of the ancient activities with the other entertainments and hobbies. In the past, it was a custom that the young people went to the houses of the old members of a big family. this action had a great importance in some society exactly in my society. while this tradition has been ruined. and less families do this model of communication.

In short, all the mentioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that the extended family is less important that it was in the past.