Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

It is undeniable that celebrities have some influence on the public's opinions on multiple aspects of life. However, the extent of that impact varies to each group of people depending on their age. To my view, young people are more affected by the statements of famous stars than older ones for the following reasons

First of all, young people have as sufficient knowledge and experience to have their own point of view as older people. The lives of most adolescents are associated with study, friends and family, and culture while only few pay attention to social or political problems. Therefore, the majority do not have enough knowledge and information about a matter on heated debate and simply imitate the perspectives of the most influential people to them, which usually are well-liked actors, singers, or athletes. An illustration is my cousin, who is now in her teenage. During the campaign for presidency in the US two years ago, I asked her what she thought about the two candidates, Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton. She immediately said that her side was with Clinton. But to my subsequent question for her reason, she explained that she like Clinton more because many of her favorite singers like Taylor Swift or Beyoncé stated the same on Twitter.

In addition, young people are more keen on famous entertainers than athletes. Apparently, famous people look more glamorous to young people than older ones, who have known more successful people than those entertainers and athletes. Idols of those in their teens and twenties are usually popular singers, actors or sports stars while the seniors admire successful businessmen, scientists or politicians. It is obvious that the young are more fascinated by the top achievers in interesting fields like pop culture, movie or sports, than social or political ones. However, as time passes, people would realize that the entertainment world is relatively superficial. Eventually, the elderly grow out of their interest in the fancy of entertainers and begin to recognize and appreciate the viewpoint of people with real knowledge and insight of the matter.

Finally, busy life is also a factor why older people are quite indifferent and therefore not persuaded by the big names in the showbiz. Teenagers and college students have a plenty of free time for their hobbies like pursuing idols. Meanwhile, as the world nowadays is intensely competitive and extremely harsh, people are required work industriously. Most people have to work hard for more than official eight hours a day to maintain an adequate life for themselves and family. For example, my parents and most of other seniors that I know barely recognize any entertainment star nor want to care about them as hey are already too occupied with their career and family.

In conclusion, it seems to me that celebrities have more impact on the young than the elderly. However, I think young people should try to evaluate a problem objectively instead of blindly following their stars' viewpoints.