Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

History is not the most favorable topic to students. Some consider them boring since it is full of number, dates, and complexed events while others think of them as unnecessary and insignificant as it is all about the past and has no impact on today's life. By contrast, I believe that it should be obligatory for all students to take a course in history regardless of their major.

First of all, knowledge of history is of great importance to everyone. People need to know about the past of their ancient, the process how they struggle to build and maintain the freedom of their nations to be grateful to the independence that they enjoy today. Furthermore, knowledge of history provides college students with a sense of identity, which is more meaningful than ever when the globalization is making every culture, ethnic group, and nationality blend together. At present, there are a large number of exchange programs every year, during which, the part in introduction of students' countries in history and culture is inevitable. If students were not conscious of their home nation's history, they might appear ignorant stupid in front of other students coming from all around the world. Additionally, as learning history, students know about the origin and

Some opponents of this idea while acknowledge of the significance of learning history, claim that students already aware of it by the time they are admitted to university because all have learned this subject in high school. This can be valid to some extent. However, in fact, most high schools students do not pay sufficient attention in history lessons because they are busy concentrating on seemingly more important subjects which help them to get into college such as maths, literature, foreign languages and natural science. Therefore, a compulsory history class in university is essential for them to supplement their knowledge of history. This time, they are mature enough to realize the value of history consciousness to place concentration in the history lecture.

Other opposers state that this take up a piece of college students' precious time, which should be spent on doing something helpful for their future career. Nonetheless, these people fail to realize the significance of awareness of history to one's academic study. A history class can act as course to provide general background for students to explore the history of their fields, which already exist as a required course in many majors' syllabuses in most universities. For example, when studying the history of economics, one must have knowledge about the conditions at the time to understand the economics drives and motives of each country and popular individual merchant.

In conclusion, I think that a mandatory class to all college students irrespective of their specialty is reasonable. I think that all university should apply this policy and students should subsequently focus on lecture on this class on to take the most advantage of it.