Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Determining how to spend money in the universities wisely to improve the quality of education is of paramount importance. Training experts in various fields of industry is the most important goal of all universities, hence, it is crucial to examine how the quality of education would improve. Spending lots of money with no perspective and no goal is waste of money and would not help. Some people may agree to increase the professors' salaries for the sake of this improvement while others would disagree and have other options. In my view, increasing the salaries for the university professor would not help and there exist other choices which are most likely to be helpful because of two main reasons.

The main reason is that, the money can be spent on constructing and enhancing the quality of laboratories in the university. Since the professors are interested in the field of their expertise, they usually do all they can do not regarding the monetary issues. They teach their students in the best way they can but there are matters that influence the understanding of students.

Students usually learn better when they are learning with experiments rather than by mere theory. Therefore, providing students with better and broader facilities would help them to learn more efficiently. For example, when I was in university I was participating in a series of courses about special electric circuits. In these courses I was just being tutored theoretically and had not seen the circuits so I had no idea what I was learning about. However, after three terms the university held a workshop in this field where I just started to recognize what I was dealing with through these terms. It helped me a lot in my understanding and at the moment I work in a company where these circuits are being developed. As you can see, attending in a workshop helped me much better to understand the topic and make use of it.

The second reason is that, empowering the connections between the university and industry is a very important issue. The whole idea of the university is to address the industrial problems. If they were more projects in the universities it would help students to encounter different problems in reality and also it would lead for the professors to earn more money. Hence, the more powerful this connection, the better quality of education. For instance, one of my professors was known to have lots of industrial projects. Through the courses with this particular professor I learned much more things than others. This experience thought me that the connections between the industry and university is one of the most important thing to improve learning quality.

In sum, though some may disagree with my opinion I think there are better ways to improve educational quality rather than by increasing the professors' salaries. Learning quality would improve faster not only by means of enhancement of laboratories but also by making powerful links between industry and the university. Therefore universities should think of alternative ways to improve their efficiency.