Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in today’s progressive and intricate world in which we live, projects have become increasingly multifarious, calling for the engagement of people possessing different fields of expertise. In this vein, a project can only be realized once a team consisting of collaborative, cooperative participants contribute to that, which makes it indispensable for team members to be constantly in touch, either by means of in-person rendezvous or using technological mediums like an e-mail correspondence. While some people might believe that these meetings are better held in a traditional, face-to-face manner, some others stand at the other side of the continuum, citing that e-mails would be sufficient for exchange of ideas. I, however, subscribe to the former group in that there are certain qualities of personal meetings that cannot be found in electronic messages. I will briefly explain the reasons for my stance in what follows.

To begin with, there are intricacies and nuances in one’s gesture that cannot be conveyed via a message. There are not just words being exchanged in a personal meeting, but there are intonations, gesticulations and facial expressions which could be just as important. Moreover, while e-mails tend to be brief and terse, there is no shortage of conversation when it comes to in-person meetings as people are not limited to confine their messages into limitations of a written text. I happen to have an experience which just squares with my claim. I remember I studied my bachelor’s degree at the University of Vienna which is located in Austria’s capital. Being a student of sociology, the department always insisted on prioritizing teamwork and socializing skills over individuality, because of which all assigned tasks were required to be done in constant collaboration with other members of the determined group. I remember once we were to prepare a presentation for an important course. A member of our group, had an emergency and went to Egypt for family matters and he being responsible for a major part of our work, we had to resort to email exchange. Even though we did correspond many times, when the presentation day was due, we realized that there has been a misunderstanding about my groupmate part, which resulted in us getting a mediocre score for that course. Had we not relied on e-mails, we could have precluded from the misunderstanding; which hurt our scores.

Secondly, having a dialogue with group members in person means getting immediate responses, saving time and leaving no room for ambiguity. Contrariwise, sending an email usually requires waiting a great deal of time for an answer, which not only wastes time which is extremely precious for on-time delivery of a project, but also leaves room for interpretation and ambiguity, should one receive a vague answer. An experience of mine could be a compelling one in this case. I remember when I worked in a consultant firm two years ago, I was part of a project in along with other members of a team, led by a senior project manager. In the last day of the deadline, while running a review, I ran into a problem with my part of the project which was beyond my expertise. Consequently, I tried to reach the project manager who only contacted us via e-mail. However, he did not answer my message for half a day and I had to rely on my speculation to solve the problem, resulting in a major flaw in my part which ruined the whole project. Had we had regular face-to-face meetings with the project manager, I would not end up delivering a half-baked work, and the whole project would have been salvaged.

In line with the points mentioned and corroborating experiences of mine, I believe that an e-mail cannot be as effective as an in-person meeting when it comes to team works and projects as it fails to convey prolonged, intricate conversations and it also leaves room for ambiguity because of its succinct and slow-paced nature.