Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In modern times, parents will learn more from their children than their children will learn from them.

Since the dawn of humanity, human beings have always been preoccupied with the conundrum of how to forge relationship with their offspring. While this relationship has been subject to significant alteration in the last decades, people have developed different, even conflicting views regarding how this interaction has been changed. While some people believe that nowadays children substantially contribute to their parents’ knowledge, some others stand at the other side of the spectrum, citing that parents have remained incontrovertible teachers of their children. I, however, would subscribe to the idea of the former group, in that there are certain changes in quality of parents-children relationship leading me to believe that their contribution to parent’s learning outweighs that of parents. I have a few reasons to substantiate my perspective, which I will briefly elaborate on in what follows.

First, nowadays families have become increasingly close-knit compared to the past, which is why exchange of ideas between family members have been enormously facilized, and these interactions can be quite instructive for parents. Contrariwise, in the old times families were larger in number, holding all members of an extended family under a roof. Consequently, family members did not get much time to discuss their opinions individually, and there was slight chance for family members to openly express their ideas. A personal observation of mine happens to be a compelling one in this case. I know my father grew up in a very large family, living with seven siblings as well as his grandmothers, his grandfathers, and a handful cousins of his. As I have observed the way my father interacts with his family and also judging by their anecdotes, they are not really close, which is why they do not openly discuss their ideas and feelings with each other. Moreover, his parents did not get much time to spend with their children respectively, due to the great number of family members. Had my father had a smaller, more intimate family, he would have spent more one-to-one time with his parents, and they would have a chance to learn from him.

Secondly, parents depend on their children to get acquainted with modern gadgets and devices, which is a must today. In the past, there were no significant intergenerational changes to one’s lifestyle during his course of life, so the parents did not have to rely on their children to stay up-to-date. Today, however, ability to employ technological instruments such as smartphones and computers is a must for parents in order to stay competitive in their career or even manage their everyday tasks, which is why children born in the era of technology, who are apt to using gadgets can help their parents a lot with this matter. I remember a few years ago my mother came home from work and she was really sullen. Her office mandated her to use computer for sending office letters and she had no idea how to use that. I was able to help her with improving her computer skills and she was able to stay competitive in her career. Had I not helped her with using computer, she would have lost her job.

To conclude, I reaffirm my point of view stating that nowadays children’s contribution to their parents’ knowledge outweighs the other side, which is due to closer and more intimate relationship of family members regardless of generation, and also owing to the fact that children possess technological skills that parents tend to need to learn from them.