The widespread use of the internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today’s world?

Today technology is a part of everyday life. We are surrounded by it and cannot live without it. Of all the new innovations computers have the greatest impact on society. It is a fact that in the past few years, the internet has exploded in terms of size, amount of information, and accessibility. The usage of the internet encompases every aspect of day-to-day life with a few examples being shopping, news, weather, live webcasts, education, communication, jobs, to name a few.

First of all,today we can easily get the latest news through the internet. In the past, people had to depend on newspapers, radio stations, and different TV channels to get the latest news, but now it is easily available with all the details right away on the internet. For example, yesterday one of my friends told me that there is an earthquake in the southern part of California. I wanted to know the details about this disaster. So for this purpose, I just turned on my computer and wrote down the latest news about the earthquake in California and that's it . A lot of different websites were available to provide the details of that mishap. Moreover, uptodate latest weather details is also just a click away. I live in New England and the weather here is unpredictable everyday. So every morning, before changing my clothes for work, first I check the weather and wear clothings according to the weather. So you can see how easy access to the internet has improved our life.

Furthermore,easy access to the internet is very helpful in education. Students are getting help from the internet for finishing their homework and assignments and getting good grades. They do not need to go out to find a tutor or other means of help for this purpose. Best example is myself. When I started preparation for my TOEFL test, I needed help in writing essays. I used to email essays to my tutor and get corrections and feedback on how to improve essay writing and this really worked out for me. In addition, these days a lot of colleges are offering low cost internet courses which are affordable for students who can pay a high tuition fee. In this way a lot of students are finishing their higher education and fulfilling their dreams of getting a college degree. In addition, the internet is very helpful for finding a job. People can find job opportunities on the internet because a lot of companies are posting their job vacancies and hiring employees through the internet.

Finally, shopping is a lot easier by the use of computers these days. Everyone is very busy these days doing different things like work, gym, household chores, watching TV and much more. They do not find time to go to the shopping mall to do shopping. Almost every departmental store has their online stores available on the internet. People can look and find everything on these online stores and even compare the prices from one web page to another without wasting time. Housewives are buying groceries from the comfort of their own home. They can just order online and within a few hours someone from the grocery store will deliver these groceries.

In conclusion, computers are one of the wonderful scientific innovations and have a greatest impact in our society. Easy access and a lot of information on the internet have changed everyone’s life. People are using computers in each and every step of life with a few examples like shopping, news, education, employment, webcast, weather , communication, and much more.