Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Considering advancements in technologies, it is evident that the manner of communication among people is changing. One of the most commonplace used manners of communicating, especially in formal cases, is sending an e-mail. But is it always beneficial? The question of whether classmates or colleagues should communicate about a project using an e-mail rather than in person has become a topic of controversy. On the one hand, some people believe that it is not always practical and prosperous. Their assumption is engaged in a dispute with beliefs of some others affiliating to another group, substantiating the view that people should use e-mail instead of talking in person. They believe that when people can send an e-mail from their office or even at home, setting a meeting to talk about the project in person is a waste of time. As far as I am concerned, I am more inclined to the first point of view, not only because talking in person will reduce to possibility of misconception, but also because people can be more innovative when they communicate with others in person. My rationals for this point of view is elaborated and exemplified in the following paragraphs.

The first and most important thing to mention is that chatting and sending e-mail is always associated with misconception. While people can get the other side of communication's form of talking, they can not completely understand it in writings such as e-mail or short text messages. Hence when people send e-mail, the possibility of misconception rises. Research conducted at the psychology department of Tehran university demonstrated that most people understand both content and form when they speak with others in person. I personally misunderstand my friends' attitude against different things almost every time I chat with them.

Another point I would like to make is that people are more innovative when they are communicating and speaking with others. Although people can share their progress and ideas with each other using e-mail, they can not completely work together. Whenever people communicate with each other in person, they can immediately correct their teammate or even can come up with more efficient ideas than the one their teammates propose. I personally try my best to use my teammate knowledge and experience whenever I have to come up with new ideas, and if I used e-mail to communicate them, I would face many obstacles like waiting for my teammate to answer me. A research conducted on about fifty students illustrated that they are more innovative and come up with much more efficient ideas when they communicate in person.

All in all, I believe that emerging of e-mail technology has benefited people in many cases and it is so useful to the people who seek to find a manner of saving time, but this does not mean that it is the best way of communication in all the conditions. Last but not least, I highly recommend people to consider the conditions before using a specific technology. Although technologies often help people with their tasks, sometimes using them have dire consequences.