Do you agree or disagree It is better to relax by watching a movie or reading a book than doing physical exercise Explain your answer with examples and specific reasons

A glance at people’s attitudes toward relaxation brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, what is the best activity to become refreshed. Although some people believe that reading a book or watching a movie can reduce brain pressures and help the person to feel relaxed, I think vice versa. As a medical student, after several years of research, I assert that physical activity is what the body needs to recover energy and feel refreshed.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that physical exercise makes the brain produce Endorphin, a substance that causes a feeling of happiness and enjoyment. This neurotransmitter is essential for the body, and its level is 100 times higher after physical activities. Usually, psychologists recommend depressed people to register for a gym and regularly participate in sports activities. Not only does it help the brain to restore energy, but it also reduces physical diseases. For example, during final exams, I preferred to play basketball every day for at least one hour to feel calm. Therefore, sport is an excellent choice to consider if individuals feel bored.

Another reason that I should deem is the fact that we are required to go outside for most types of exercises. Going outside increases the amount of oxygen that the brain needs. On the other hand, when people are alone at home, they think about their problems and stressful situations more. The solution is to change the way of thinking and give the brain cells some rest. A study at Harvard University shows that being part of a group or even walking outdoor strengthens the mental status because of concentration on enjoyable subjects. For instance, when I hike with my husband outdoor, we talk about good memories and exciting topics that make us happy and full of energy. Hence, reading a book does not have benefits of physical activity.

Admittedly, watching a movie with friends or family has several advantages. The friendship bond creates an essential signal in the brain and spirits the mood. Nevertheless, it is a short-term solution, and for the long-term, it increases the risk of stroke. So, I still claim that physical activity controls the stress better.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I strongly suggest people choose physical activities for relaxation because not only does it have physical benefits, but also it gives you mental advantages.