Do you agree or disagree: Movies and TV programs made in your own country are more interesting comparing to movies and programs made in other countries.

Thanks to the development of technology, we can enjoy a plethora of movies and tv shows from other countries. If we want to watch those, we can buy those contents on the Internet or even some channels broadcast foreign movies and tv programs. Although some people have penchant for those eclectic contents, some people still have think that movies or tv shows made in their own country are more interesting compared to others due to the cultural and language difference.

First of all, it is hard to understand movies and TV shows from other countries because of the cultural difference. What I mean is that even though in this era, we are living in the globalized world, we still have our own culture which can be distinguished to others. Therefore, especially moves or TV shows which contain a myriad of factors that include cultural context, foreigners cannot truly understand the intriguing factors and scenes if they do not have cultural understanding on that country. For example, in Asian culture, lots of people are conservative on physical contacts or sexual contents, some scenes in hollywood movies can be awkward for them. In this case, regardless of the story line or main idea of the movie, people can have negative thoughts on the movie and cannot enjoy the movie.

Secondly, language is the another reason for the fact that people cannot enjoy the movies or TV shows from other countries. When we want to see the movies or TV shows from other countries which different language is spoken in, subtitles or dubbing for those are indispensable. However, if we just focus on the subtitles to understand the contents of the movies or TV shows, we easily lose our focus on the whole screen and scenes and have more chance to lose precious moments. Moreover, if we watch a movie with dubbing, though we can see the whole screen, the movie seems awkward because minute difference between the audio and video can ruin the mood of the movie. Thus, since we need one more step to understand movies or TV shows in different language, we cannot have sheer pleasure.

In brief, I firmly believe that movies and TV programs made in my own country is more intriguing comparing to foreign movies in that I cannot understand their culture and language.