Do you agree or disagree Rather than help children with their schoolwork parents should encourage their children do their work independently

It is obvious that parents play a crucial role in education of their children. Their help and guidance has significant effects not only on their success in the process of education but also on their future job and living conditions. Some people assert that parents should directly help their children to do their homework, while I strongly believe that parents help them indirectly and should allow them to carry out their schoolwork independently. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss my view using some reasons and examples.

I think it is better for children to do their homework without direct help of their parents. In other words, parents should control them, and they should not get directly involved in doing their work because it prevents them from learning their lessons. Students become dependent on their parents in order to do their schoolwork; thus, they make no effort to study more and cannot get good grades. As a result, parents not only do not benefit their children by helping them with their schoolwork but also prevents them from learning and understanding their lessons. For example, my friend’s parents helped her to do her assignments and our teacher always praised her because of perfect homework. But she was not successful in her exams because she did not try to do her work by herself and did not learn very well in spite of the fact that her schoolwork was excellent.

Moreover, I believe that it is parents’ duty to encourage their children to conduct their work independently. Not only do they learn better and improve their knowledge but also doing homework independently helps them to do other activities by themselves without requesting help from others. That is, carrying schoolwork alone lead them to prepare them to do other activities without dependence on other help. For instance, when i was a student in high school, although my parents had university education, they never helped me directly with my assignments; rather, they advised me to study more and use other instructional materials to solve my problems. Consequently, I learned from them a lot of things and tried to use the Internet or go to library to find necessary resources in order to do my assignments. Also, it was beneficial for me when I entering to university in other city because I learned to be independent in doing my work and I am able to overcome my difficulties and find a solution to solve them.

To sum up, in my point of view, encouraging children to do their schoolwork independently not only causes them to learn more and better but also helps them to be independent on other situations and doing other activities. Therefore, they will be a more successful person in their lives compared with children who are relied on their parents to do their tasks.