Some young people are free in the evenings or have days off at school, which way can bring them the most benefit? 1. to accumulate work experience by a part-time job or volunteering in a community2. learning to play a sport3. learning to play a musical in

ohn Dewey once commented, “Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself.” Since the dawn of industrialization, machines have largely replaced humans by accomplishing many tasks that could be merely done manually in the past. Therefore, coupled with the advent of technology and globalization, much more emphasis has been placed on how human beings can do or what skills humans need to acquire in order not to be entirely supplanted by technology and machines. It is many educators’ as well as my belief that young children should do some part-time job or volunteer in a community so that they could accumulate work experience to help prepare themselves for the real-world work environment.

To begin with, young people gaining some work experience allows them to learn work skills that can never be acquired at school. To be more specific, when at school, young people are confined to the academic knowledge in textbooks. They might be able to regurgitate and recite biology details or historical facts from textbooks very fluently and smoothly. However, when they enter workforce, they do not know how to mingle with their colleagues, what to wear to an interview, or how to assume responsibilities when mistakes arise. On the other hand, if young people do some part-time jobs at cafeteria or some volunteer work at the child-care center, they would learn how to to deal with unreasonable customers or how to interact with bossy supervisors.

Furthermore, the youth can benefit a great deal from accumulating work experience so that they can learn how to be more sympathetic and empathetic. That is, since young people are in the developmental phase of egocentrism, volunteering in a community or taking a part time job gives them a window of opportunity to detach themselves from the center and care more for other people. When I was in the eleventh grade, I tended to act in a pretty condescending way simply because I always fared well at school. Therefore, I always thought of myself as the smartest and the most intelligent person in the world. I rarely cared a lot about those who were uneducated or who weren’t very bright. However, one time, I had this opportunity to volunteer at a primary school in Africa, where may education a;resources were deprived. There, students lacked stationery or their used textbooks had been so rusty that they might fall apart any time soon. Witnessing this, I had this epiphany that I shouldn’t have taken everything for granted, including my education. There were millions of people in the world who were not lucky enough to relish the fruit of education. After this volunteering experience, I have become more humble, thinking less of me. I now even go to a local literacy center every day where I would spend two hours tutoring some young children how to read or how to write because I deeply believe that if I can contribute what I have to them, they will have a better chance to shine in the world.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my arguments by claiming that learning to play the sport or a musical instrument can be more fruitful for young people’s development since playing the sport allows young people to stay mentally and physically fit. With stronger and sturdier mentality and physiques, they can better arm themselves to tackle the mounting pressure in their lives. If young people learn to play a musical instrument, such as harpsichord or cello, they can immerse themselves in the cadence of music, and most importantly, they can feel relaxed. Learning how to play musical instruments serves as an avenue for young people to release their pent-up pressure. Granted, learning how to play the sport and musical instrument can confer some advantages on young people; however, have these people forgotten that nowadays, technology has been able to produce music or create virtual sports games, such as Wii or Play Station for humans. In other words, technology can fulfill those demands for human beings. Young people need not know how to play a musical instrument in order to listen to some melodious songs or how to move around in order to pass the ball to their teammates. However, if young people do not accumulate necessary work experience to obtain some soft skills, such as communication or interpersonal relation, they may find themselves unemployable after they leave school. Therefore, I do believe that if young children can learn how to survive in the real-world workforce, they can better stay competitive, and accumulating work experience by doing some part-time job or volunteering in a community can definitely help them achieve that.