Do you agree or disagree with the statement: people buy things not because of need but because others also buy them.

Please check my essay. I'm in a desperate need of being checked. Thank you in advance.

Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the statement: people buy things not because of need but because others also buy them.

The world has changed significantly since the explosion of the Information Revolution. Most of the traditional values are on the edge of collapse including the way people buying product. Tied with the convenience supported by the internet, the behavior of buying has reached to a new level. I do believe that buying a goods due to its core application is no longer a true purpose.

In the first place, customers consider a product not only by its true value but also by numerous aspects. In fact, the rise of information has impacted on marketing. It is not simply a pure market as the past in which only customers and manufacturers could be able to balance the demand-supply relationship. In fact, the new era of the internet allows the commercial advertisements to spread to every corners of the known world. It becomes easy than ever before for the business to approach their potential targets. A series of social network like facebook, twitter, or instagram play an important role as a bridge connecting two sides of demand and supply. Moreover, such kinds of social network did collect our behaviors, interests, or even worse our income level then sell this information to the manufactures. Indeed, we are nothing but the victim trapped inside a gigantic cell of shopping fever. Therefore, the products we decide to buy are actually the results of the information we leaked unexpectedly. Equally is the fact that the combination of manufactures and social network is a perfect trap to charm us to buy the product that have nothing to do with our needs.

On the other hand, we are influenced by others’ behavior. Indeed, human always decide based on the majority. Inevitably, we are being influenced by our idols or celebrities. It is a wise policy to choose the celebrities as the representatives. For example, Adidas has chosen Ronaldo as its avatar. Then a series of image relating to Adidas appearing daily on his million-follower Instagram are exaggerating the core value of this product. As a result, thousands of teenagers who consider Ronaldo as their idol are contributing to Adidas’s daily revenue. Even if they simply need a $30-shoes to play soccer, they still extravagance hundreds of dollars on a brand one. It is one of thousands prime examples to prove that we are actually buying what we are not in urgent need of.

In conclusion, buying goods based on our purposes is the story of previous century. “Living on the fast lane” like the 21st century has trapped customer in an enormous cell of shopping based on manufactures’ wills, or even more simple, buying the products that are not relative to our needs.