Do you prefer to work on a final class project

A- alone

B- with classmates

C-with a tutor

Working on final projects can be rather stressful since usually such projects form the majority of the students' final grades. I understand that some people prefer to work in groups or with tutors, but I would rather work alone for reasons I will explore later in this essay.

I believe it is more efficient to work alone; you do not waste your precious time arguing with a classmate about the details of your project. For example, five years ago, during my last year in pharmacy school, I had to work on a project for my Pharmacology class. I was very stressed out because, along with this project, I had two other projects for my Microbiology and Pathophysiology classes. I worked on my own for both of these projects, but the Pharmacology professor divided the class into groups of three. I was assigned to work with Tara and Adam. Both of them, unfortunately, were not team players kind of people. They were obsessed with questioning each other's ideas, and they wasted time trying to be the group leader. I was a shy person back then, I could not make them stop the useless talk and start working, so I worked alone to finish the project. However, we only had a week to finish the project because the professor thought a week was enough time to submit it since it was supposed to be a teamwork project. When the due time to present our work to the professor came, we were not half done with it. The professor refused to give us an extension to finish, and we all got a D in his class. I was very disappointed because it was unfair for me. On the other hand, I finished the other two projects on my own and passed with flying colors. This experience made me realize that I do better when I work alone since I control the whole process without having people wasting my time in fights.

I also believe that when you work alone, you will be more committed to the project, and you will make better plans to finish it on time. When you work alone, you will feel that you are the only one responsible for doing the project in the best way possible and finishing time. Back in high school, the Biology teacher assigned the class a project about animal adaptations to their environment. He gave us the freedom to choose either to work alone or in pairs. Unlike most of the class, I chose to go solo on this. Other students struggled to finish on time, but I did not. I structured a tight schedule for me, and I was able to finish three days before the deadline. However, most of the class needed extra time to finish. The time the professor gave us was more than enough, yet it was not sufficient for the students because each student in a given team relied on the other student to do most of the work. They were less serious about the project than me because they worked in pairs. This example clearly showed that working alone is better than working with others.