TPO 40

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Upbringing a child is undoubtedly one of the most challenging things to do. You will face a lot of unexpected situations that will leave you in doubt. Sometimes the right thing to do is not an easy task, but being a parent requires you always to do the right thing no matter how hard it is. Giving money to children is the easy way to motivate them to study. Yet, it is definitely the wrong approach.

Rewarding children with money is actually a bribe, and parents will suffer its consequences in the future. When kids grow up, they will demand more money. My nephew: Adam, who is now sixteen years old, is an excellent example of why the financial reward is a bad idea. When Adam was six years old, my sister used to give him five dollars for every A+ he got. Adams hated school so much, and my sister did not have the patience to deal with this issue, so she came up with this easy solution; to bribe her kids to study. Everything went fine for a while until Adam started to ask for more money each year. She was able to keep up with his demands for few years. However, now that he is a teenager and at an age eligible to drive, Adams wants a sport-car that costs over twenty thousand dollars to study for his final exams. My sister does not have that kind of money, and they are constantly fighting over this matter. I do not blame Adam for this behavior because she taught him to be this materialistic his entire life.

Another reason why I disagree with this approach is it makes children irresponsible and selfish. They will not work for a better future for themselves. My young brother was a star student; he was at the top of his class his entire life. We had such big hopes for him. After losing my father, my mom started to give him money for every high grade he got. She felt guilty that she was busy with work all the time, and she had no time to help him with his homework. My brother is now twenty-one, and he is unemployed. He does not have any sense of responsibility to get a job and provide for himself because he used to get a lot of money just for studying. Now, he thinks he is better than people with jobs; he thinks he is too smart to get an eight to five job. He wants my mother to give him seed money to start his own project, and he does not care that my mom cannot spend all her savings on him. I believe his selfishness and irresponsibility are direct results of the financial rewards he received as a child.