Do you think that young people should take several different kinds of job before they take a career in a long term

Some people contend that it is unnecessary for graduated students to try different kinds of work before they have determined what is their lifelong career. However, I hold the opposite view that taking diverse tries has some positive influences for them.

First and foremost, taking totally irrelevant kinds of work is conducive for people to find their interests and targets in their life. It is generally acknowledged that only if people are interested and hold consistent enthusiasm for their careers, their potential capacity would be motivated, thus they are more likely to have a brighter future than other who are not. In the progression of trying diverse jobs, it is no doubt that people would realize what their advantages are and which job is the most suitable for them. To be more specific, as a financial student, I took internships in both securities company and information system department of Red Bull, a celebrated company in producing beverage. My first experience of internship was assistance of superior in securities company, during which what I did was just participating boring conferences and communicating with different kinds of people to answer their question about bond or stock market. I found the jobs there was definitely boring and meaningless. While, during last summer vocation, my father introduced me to the information department, where I started to put some practical skills into practice, like compiling a sample programming to streamline some types of works and utilizing statistic knowledge to deal with problems encountered. Due to such experience in the information department, I realized the jobs would invigorate myself to devote much effort into my job. After that, I determined to change my target and major into Information.

More importantly, another benefit of taking different jobs is helping people to meet the serious and draconian requirements of famous companies. With the rapid development of technology and the internet, in fact, an increasing number of jobs are interrelated. A coveted post does desire a talent with comprehensive knowledge structure than that of a specific field. Go back to the example stated above, before I began my first internship in securities company, I thought that the work there only required me to have financial knowledge. However, in the first day, I was asked to use some computer applications, such as Excel, Word and EViews, to organize the data of clients, while, as a freshman, I had not learnt knowledge and skills like that, thus I could not complete the jobs assigned by immediate superior and felt disappointed. Nevertheless, when I stepped into the information department, my colleague was so nice that he helps me to gain how to use those applications smoothly, which strikingly improved my efficiency in working. In this case, I realized that a seemingly irrelevant job would be able to teach me some skills needed for another jobs.

In a nutshell, I still remain that before deciding the career, anyone needs to try something different and they can benefit from this experience.