To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Some people contend that public leaders have to remain highly moral to keep every part functioning smoothly. However, I hold the opposite view that morality is not a criterion of an outstanding leader.

Admittedly, someone objects my point of view and they think a leader should maintain commensurate images to the public. This is because their ethical and moral behaviors are capable of affecting the citizens, thus people would also control their own actions. As a result, there are not too many misfeasance that transgress social orders. Specifically, in ancient China, Dynasty Tong was dominated by the emperors with high ethic. Under this circumstance, Tong reached the peak of prosperity in the fields of economy and culture throughout Chinese history. In great contrast, Dynasty Yuan's rulers were famous for their ferocious behaviors, advocating conquering other civilizations with battles. Yuan only persisted for about 60 years, after that it devolved and was replaced by others.

In great contrast, blindly keeping highest ethical standards can be regarded as an obvious weakness for a leader, because in order to remain highest moral, one would be limited by many determinants that are negative to leader's decisions. Similarly, people's interest would get harm by the consistence of the marble image of leader. Image a country with a highest ethical president. When a contagious disease spread over citizens so rapid that country would not be able to control it. Under this circumstance, as an effective leader, what he does is conciliating people rather than telling them the truth that might discourage them. However, veiling such essential information is an immoral behavior. Therefore, if a leader with highest moral is obdurate to make such terrible situation public, despite he or she remain moral, whole country would encounter with turbulence and anxiety for a long time. Clearly, keeping moral in some special situation is not a wise choice.

More importantly, in most time, even if the leader does not keep ethical in traditional perspective, they still are able to be an outstanding one. In fact, to be an effective leader, it is enough to rule the citizens in an equitable way, promoting life standards that is presented through the increment of economy and productivity. Under this circumstance, the necessary capacity of leading whole country is oratory skills and political talent, which can be regarded as the standard of the effective leaders. For instance, Bill Clinton, the president of America in last century, was criticized for his marital indiscretion and was thought of as adverse image to the public. However, in that period, he facilitated American economy to boost obviously, which made the majority satisfied. As a result, with the support from public, he successfully reined for next 5 years. Clearly, although Clinton was accused of his unethical behavior, he was also a significant leader of whole country.

In a nutshell, I maintain that, as a leader, he or she should see government operations and people’s will as prerequisite and priority, instead of simply keeping moral, which will not have any positive influence on country and citizens he or she serves.