Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a Palean basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter contend that Palean baskets were not indigenous to Palean, because of absent evidence of boats and such baskets found in Lithos. However, in my opinion, some evidence should be presented to further illustrate the author's argument.

First of all, given the evidence that, nowadays, the Brim River is so deep and broad that it is impossible for ancient people to cross it, the author argues that in ancient, there was must be a such huge river impeding the connection between Lithos and Palean people. More evidence is required to evaluate the validity of such view. Over thousands of years, the topography of this area must have been highly changed, thus it is more likely that in ancient, this river did not appear. In this case, people from different village could trade with each other. Clearly, more specific geographic evidence is needed to eliminate such possibility.

Apart from that, the author uses the fact that no Palean boats had been found as an evidence to support his or her argument. Nevertheless, we need evidence to ascertain whether there were not any relic of boats or other transportation tools. In fact, in ancient, the technology was not highly developed, so if Palean people really had built boats to help them cross the river, those kinds of boats were made of lumber. Clearly, lumber is not a durable resource that would decay over long period of time. Therefore, even if Palean people had boats, present scientists hardly found any clues relevant with them. To establish the argument strongly, the author has to found more evidence for supporting.

Finally, even though it is true that Palean people did not have any implements for transporting, we still need to found some evidence to verify that different village could hardly trade with each other. Because of the shortage of natural resources, different village had to trade with other communities to exchange some daily products. Thus, actually, there were numerous trades happened among the ancient society. Despite impossibility of direct connect with Lithos people, those baskets still would be able to exist in Lithos. Obviously, more evidence are requiring to prove the validity of conclusion.

In a nutshell, while the conclusion in the letter is seemingly decisive and unmistakable, the author still needs more evidence to further proving it.