70. The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the letter, the author of it contend that the Old Dairy stockholders had better sell out their shares in order to decrease the potential loss and persuade others not to purchase it any more. While the suggestion might be reasonable to some extents, there are questions that the author should answer before he or she prove the validity of argument.

To begin with, the author assumes that since over 80 percent interviewers are determining to curtail fats and cholesterol contained in their daily food, the sales of Old Dairy would be obviously diminished. However, I wonder what is the exact number of total participants in such survey. To be more specific, if the total number of interviewers are relatively small, the result will not be regarded as a strong data to support the author's argument. There will be numerous specific or special situation occurring, thus their answer could not be objective. Therefore, answering the question would reinforce the conclusion.

Apart from that, the letter contends the increasing amounts of low-fat products sold in many food stores can be a reason to repudiate the stock of Old Dairy. Nevertheless, the author has to answer another question to make his or her argument valid: where were the stores stated in the letter located? If the food stores are around the hospitals or care centers, where the patients are inclined to imbibe healthy food to maintain their condition and recover rapidly, these stores nearby would offer low-fat products to obtain profits. On the other hand, the community of poor people can afford the prohibitive price of divergent types of snake containing fat or cholesterol, they would not consider the products on their purchasing lists. Therefore, the location of stores is a determinant of the result.