Students should spend a year to travel or to work before their go to college or university.

Some people contend that student should directly step into university after college entrance examination. However, I hold the opposite view that they need to gap for a spell to think about their decisions and develop some capacity required in this society.

Admittedly, some voices rise that educational performance is the only determinant for student's career. With the rapid advancement of modern society, increasing number of graduates are rushing into job market. Therefore, it is not surprising that student should not put their valuable time on other things irrelevant with their studying. However, in my opinion, even though education is so significant now that it will decides the life standards of people, stepping into university life is negative for students' passion in studying. After long period of studying with highly pressure, students have to refresh themselves, which would make them get motivated and push them to learn more. Blindly focusing on studying would only backfire their performance.

In great contrast, spending time on traveling or working, even simply having a rest have certain benefits on students, as such behaviors would give them a time to rethink their educational situation and consider what career they would like to be inducted. In fact, students would be less likely to really think about which occupation they are interested in, because they have bombarded with endless assignments and numerous classes on variety subjects, especially in China. To be more specific, before I was entering the university, my parents persuaded me to take part in the internship to have a good understanding of working contend and environment. Thus, I started my internship in a bank where the people were quite nice and they imparted a lot financial knowledge to me, all of which gave me a chance to get accessed to whole finance industry. After that, I made determinant that I was willing to become a financial student in the college.

More importantly, dedicating themselves into working is an excellent way for students to be independent. In the process of taking working, each student has to encounter with the fact that they would arrange everything on their own, instead of simply implementing their parents’ instructions, which is definitely an arduous challenge for them. Go back to the example stated above. During that period of internship, everyday teem with various events so that I had to plan each thing in advance, like handling with mission relegated by immediate superior, cooking for myself and acquiring education to expand my knowledge structure after work. I also needed to take into consideration the most efficient way of accomplishing those things smoothly, during which there is no doubt that I developed the independence and became more premature than peers.

In a nutshell, I still remain that it is a right choice for students to experience a spell of completely new life disparate from the identity of students. Anyone who has such experience would accommodate the university life.