The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The given newsletter offering advice to investors in dairy products does not give that much of compelling explanations to come to an extreme decision - not to buy any stock in dairies. Different questions must be answered before giving this extreme advice.

Firstly, newsletter gives outcomes of a survey which claims 80 percent of the survey respondents showed a desire to reduce their habit of intaking food products with fats and high cholesterol. But out of how many respondents these results came from? Just 80 percent does not tell how many people are desiring to reduce such intake. If the survey had only 100 respondents, 80 percent means only 80 people cannot represent entire group of consumers. Similarly if the number of respondents is about 1 Million, 80 percent means 80,000 people. Such number can be considered as firm evidence that the people are desiring to reduce their fats intake in the particular area. Therefore number of respondents should have been mentioned.

Moreover, where this survey was done? This is not mentioned anywhere in the letter. This question is particularly important as one small area of survey cannot represents entire group of people where the dairy products gets exported. As habbits, lifestyle, daily food products changes area by area majorly.

Humans have tendency to have desire of so many things. The people in the survey have desire to give up fatty food products, just a desire indicates that people will actually give up on these products? How many people have actually give on fatty food products? Humans cannot control themselves whenever tasty, most of the time fatty dish comes in front of them. So how many desired people have actually gave up is also one of the factor before giving any extreme advise.

Newletter should have been more detailed to answer these questions and these questions will be effecting on market majorly. So before taking any extreme position, one should not think to alter their decision without expected answers.