To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In a country like India, which is widely known for its diversity, we can find variety of characteristics in society. If anyone has to study them, he or she has to go every part of the country, every state of the country, and more importantly every city as well as every village of a state.

In urban areas people genereally dont even know the names of their neighbours and sometimes not even faces. But if we go to rural area this will not be the case, most of the villages are like a giant familly altogether, helping their neighbours, will enter in their houses with considering its their own, any news spreads like a wind. This can sound exagerated but it does happen.

While the nature of people in rural areas is friendly, issues like racism, cast system, male dominant society, killing of child if it is a baby girl, not allowing girls to go out after 6-7 pm, rape is seen more in rural areas of India than in urban ones. Most people in major cities are forward thinking people.

So if anyone has to study about characteristics of a society he or she cant ignore village areas as there exists different biliefs, thoughts throughout the country.