In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

We live in a world in which someone already has small significant work in something. If we ever go and brainstorm on some problems in society, we can point out so many prevalent problems, from small to big. But if just search about that problem, someone already has contributed some work on it. This is the biggest challenge in front of entrepreneurs. But this may not be the case always, in fact it has not been.

Everyone knows sir Issac Newton. A person who has made splendid work in almost every field of science. The apple which fell on the ground has resulted in such astonishing discoveries which each and every child studies and will be studying. There was no one before who had worked on gravity before. Newton had no influence, still he was able to discover.

I was in entrepreneurship development cell in my first two years of engineering. One of my friend, was also a part of our cell noticed particularly that people in Pune city (one of the major cities in India) receive processed milk. Whereas he was from village background and always had fresh milk from his childhood. He did not think twice and decided to start selling fresh, unprocessed milk in Pune and started that startup named farm-o-fresh. He has achieved significant growth for the startup(he has his own app and website). There was no one before him in Pune city who thought too do this before . He somewhere was his own influencer.

These entrepreneurs, scientists, founders of huge IT companies, developers of programming languages, etc do exits who did not have any influence of anyone's significant work but successfully aced in their fields. If you have self confidence that you can discover something useful which will help society you are good to start without anyone's influence.