Essay topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to give your opinion.

Speaking of any multi-million-dollar businesses, their analysists have to face the problem of what is the most reasonable, profitable and sustainable way for a business to spend their budget. Financial analysists of a university, academically as it sounds, is not an exception. Some of them believes that it is the best strategy to invest most of the budget into academic development, such as renovating a library. While having a brand-new library delights hard-working students, I deem that supporting sports activities is equally important.

Staying mentally healthy is unarguably one of the most crucial factors in students’ life. A good university aims to create an environment that enables their students to live a wonderful life, because without it, they could hardly motivate themselves to do anything beyond staying in bed hopelessly. Sports, on the other hand, fuel the students with energy, social interactions and passion by simply encouraging them to go outside, experience the world and make new friends, all of which are indispensable social skills needed in the real world. Imagine that a university insists to weigh academic development more than recreational activities, they would have a hard time removing students’ pressure of heavy homework, let alone creating opportunities for them to enjoy their life.

Is it worth noting that a university, like other businesses, values its main function, teaching, as much as increasing its revenue. In other words, it’s employees in charge of project investment should also prioritize generating income in order to ensure that the school continues to exist for hundreds of years. Granted, focusing on academic facilities such as a library maximize students’ potential in academic achievements; it is nevertheless a huge investment that the university could take years to break even. However, supporting sport activities is a completely different story: despite the fact that it costs a lot more money to build sports facilities than a library, it pays back the cost quickly due to a unique characteristic: the visibility of sports themselves. For instance, two notable universities, UCLA and USC have been hosting football games for more than 50 years. The game between them has been so popular that in the past several years, even their students could not easily get a ticket, which was sold for more than 100 dollars. Assuming that the football playground is able to host up to 10,000 people, that’s an easy 1 million dollars revenue, which merely considers those VIP seats, costing up to a grand each. Comparatively, building a library costs as much as the revenue from only one game.

In conclusion, it is wise for a university with the mindset of giving their students a bright life to balance the focus between academic development and sports activities. Moreover, the university needs generate enough income by supporting sports activates to sustain its business.