TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

There is no doubt that having interaction with others in the society is the one of the most prominent need that embedded in human's spirits. Even though many people inclined towards an idea that making many new friends can easily get joyfulness, I'm definitely more sure that staying with old friends and maintaining the friendship with old ones will receive more happiness.

To begin with, old friends are more reliable than new ones. In the long time friendship with your old friends, you trust them without doubt more than the new friends you just make in short time. Making new friends is much easier. When you attend a party or other activities, you can talk to many people and find something in common with them. Then you become friends. However, when you are in trouble and meet some problems, the first bunch of people coming to your mind are the old friends. Old friends with time precipitation know you better then new ones. Since you can rely on them for ever and you know they will support you without any hesitate, you would receive happiness and sense of accomplishment. Although by making mew friends there will be many people around you, can you trust them as well as your old friends? More people surrounding can not be representative as getting more supports and help. So maintaining long run friendship is an essential way to get happiness.

The other reason which deserves to say some words here is that, people have more memories with old friends rather than new ones. Many old friends they made is when you high school or university or even when they are in childhood. They can spend time in a same activity, or same tasks which would be efficient for them. Most of the long lasting friendships are usually initiated since school or collage, and lead them to make friends with a same insight, same goal, and is motivated them to care of their friendship. For example, I have had a friends since I was in high school, and both of us wanted to go abroad to further our study so we always study toefl and SAT together. Because we know each other for a long time, until we not only could focus on our weakness, but also decreased the level of our stress. And finally we received the same offer and continued our friendships. Thus, with a lot of memories with old friends, people get more happier.

To sum up, people need to realize that the ability of preserving of friend in the long time not only brings more happiness in the life, bu also give the sense of satisfaction. People have more in common with their old friends, sharing same memories. Old friends will support you all the time.